Depressed Newbie - help me please!

G

I am doing my PhD in history. I'm not funded, and have been pt paying my own fees. It's been hard to study because I'm working full time to pay my fees and rent, etc. I haven't had more than 2 free days to do anything since the May bank holiday.

I seem to be the only pt student in my department. My supervisors aren't sympathetic. I have had some teaching work but one warned me off more because I shouldn't "prostitute myself." The other suggested paying someone to do my interview transcriptions for me - which would cost a couple of grand! They tell me to go to conferences on weekdays and I don't have enough holidays.

I applied for a uni scholarship but I wasn't shortlisted because I'm not continuing or overseas. I have reapplied for AHRC funding and as the results date looms I'm pessimistic and I feel like jacking the whole thing in.

I want a PhD and I think my topic is brilliant (obviously) but I feel like it might just ruin the rest of my life if I have to do it like this.

Is anyone else part time and how do you manage?

G

PS I know I am new and I am very sorry that my first post is such a downer. I just feel very alone in this and I would be so grateful if someone had some advice.

O

I fully symphatise and know how depressing this situation is. Still I wonder why people embark on P/T again and again. In my opinion, part-time studies should be banned. Not only do they last forever, they also put people in situations which are almost impossible to handle and due to the increased length, it's hard to keep yourself motivated.

G

But would you have the people who don't get funding barred from PhD studies? Or do you expect them to somehow do full time on no money?

J