Did you get onto a postgrad programme with a lower class degree than normally required?

C

Hi
I am a journalist writing a piece for a national newspaper giving advice to graduates who didn't achieve the degree classification they were hoping for. I'm trying to find some examples of people who got a 3rd (or a 2:2 when they needed a 2:1) but still managed to get onto a postgraduate programme.
If anyone is able to help, could they please contact me via the forum admin. It would involve a short phone chat about your experience and what advice you would give to others in the same situation.
Many thanks

J

I did; though I'd need my supervisor's approval if any article would mention my sponsor or university

J

Got a 2.2 (not a 3rd) when it is normally a 2.1.

C

Hi Juno
Thanks. I will ask admin to forward you my email so we can get in contact and have a preliminary chat.
Caroline

J

No problem.

I'm sure there are others on here too - won't mention usernames in case they don't want to get involved, but if you hang around they may log on

G

Quite a few if you red through the old posts. Popular question. Indeed I mention it myself reguarly regarding a pal of mine [Bobo], who recently got accepted with a 2.2 at northern Uni.

R

Hi,
I got a 2.2 and I applied to and was accepted by two universities: Durham and Newcastle. Newcastle even offered me NERC funding despite the 2.2 (though I admit I did have exceptional circumstances).I've chosen to take out a large loan and go to Durham instead as their MSc is by research and that suits me better.