Dilemma- any insights?

T

Hello all. I seem to have a dilemma.

I graduated (BSc. in Ysubject) in 2007. Long before I had even finished, I knew exactly what I wanted to do, starting with one particular MSc in Xsubject (not quite in my undergrad subject, but closely related). Since then this has not changed for a second- I am more convinced than ever that this is what I want to do.

In the time since then I have been temping to earn money and to have some time away from academia in the 'real world' (partly to make sure that I really did want to do the MSc- I do!). Now, however, it is time to get my application in gear and... I'm scared witless. I am convinced that my results are not good enough (a 2.1- solid, nothing outstanding, and probably the minimum that most applicants will have), and that I have nothing to make me stand out on the application form. I do not want to ruin my chance at getting into my 'dream course' because of a substandard application. Right now, I can see two options:

A) Apply now. Take a chance that decent references (pretty confident here) and a solid degree result will get me in.
Pros: I get my dream career on track quickly. My application may be enough- Love the course, but I know it's not too competitive.
Cons: Rushing this could ruin my chances of achieving it at all.
Also, there is the problem of fees- my SO will be earning 'proper' money by then (he's doing his PGCE now- I know, not exactly huge money, but still). However, I'm not sure I can ask him to pay the bills alone (He'd be willing to do this, but I'd feel awful). My parents are not in a position to help, and there is only so much I will be able to save by then.

B) Apply for 2010 entry as soon as the 2010 application process begins.