Dissertation writing, how many drafts?

L

Hello all,
I am an MPhil student in my second year of part-time study at UCL. I am in the humanities field. My advisors keep making me rewrite the first chapter, I am on my 4th draft now. Ultimately when they deem it suitable, this is the chapter I will use for my upgrade from MPhil to PhD student. Should I be concerned? How many rewrites is too many?

Thanks

I honestly think there is no definitive answer to this one. 'Until it's right' isn't very helpful, but it's true. Having seen some of the tales of horribly uncooperative supervisors on here, maybe it is good that your supervisors are actually reading and commenting (with any luck, positively). Maybe you could regard it as a sort of training exercise in writing up, so once you have upgraded the rest of the chapters will be less stressful :P

A

Hello...A LOT is the very unhelpful answer I can give you. My supervisors only want to see the final version, so they will not really give me 4 drafts back...but I have done a large number of drafts myself and kept improving on them, sent my work to friends/family members etc to comment on etc. At least it is the first draft. By the end of it you will know what level they are expecting and (hopefully) can get to a stage where you need a smaller number of drafts. Good LUCK! :)

L

Quote From Pootle:
I honestly think there is no definitive answer to this one. 'Until it's right' isn't very helpful, but it's true. Having seen some of the tales of horribly uncooperative supervisors on here, maybe it is good that your supervisors are actually reading and commenting (with any luck, positively). Maybe you could regard it as a sort of training exercise in writing up, so once you have upgraded the rest of the chapters will be less stressful :P

That's for shedding some positive light on this. I just get a bit self-consciouss and paranoid when I receive comments and requests for revision of my work. I guess it is part of the process

L