Do many people finish researching and submit thesis in 3yr time period?

F

Hi Guys,

I've been noticing that a few of the students in my office (computer science department) have taken four years to conduct their research and write their theses. I was just wondering, do many students finish their research and write-up within the three year time period?

A

I didn't (and not met anyone who did!). I'm sure plenty of people do but completion times are in part dependent on the type of project you do and you need some luck along the way.

The average time for a PhD completion in the UK is 3yrs and 8 months (2003 figure, see sciencecareers.sciencemag.org/career_development/issue/articles/2590/doctoral_education_in_the_united_kingdom.)

A

NB you'll need to stick a 'http://' in front of that link!

W

I always wanted to finish within 3 years and thought it would be the end of the world if I didn't. But this didn't happen - I have been doing mine for 3 years and 5 months and the end is in sight! No one who started with me at my uni has submitted yet. I have publish 2 papers, presented at 4 conferences and been teaching which does take time and energy away from the PhD. However, I have met a couple of people who have completed theirs in 2.5 years! So it is possible, but it means being focused and not running into any time-consuming problems.

H

I know someone who finished in just under 3 years and another person who finished a month after.

So I guess its possible.....

J

no, as ann said, the average length of a phd is more than 3 years and some research councils (like epsrc) now provide more than 3 years funding by default.

W