Doing a PhD 3 years on ?????

D

Hi

I graduated in 2004 with a good 2:1 degree in Microbiology i planned on going straight on to do a phd , After my graduation i became seriously ill i managed to get away lightly and lost my left leg a year ago .

its been 3years since i have graduated most of that time (20months)spent in hospital

things are back to normal i have begun to apply for phd positions but i am feeling kind of negative . AA whole three years just wasted with no work or study although i have been involved in asome volunteer work working with other young people with amputations.

I done a lot of voluntary work experience in microbiology prior to even beginning my degree i have always been passionate about my research interests and i want nothing more than to complete a phd

The PhDs i have applied for i have mentioned the reason behind the gap in my CV

So in your honest opinions how would supervisors look at my application ? what chance do i stand against those who have been more fortunate? Just be honest please

Thankyou in advance for any comments you may have

Danny

C

Maybe a supervisor would think you had commitment if you were still applying 4 years on - despite serious illness.

Good luck.

C

Hi Danny. You have been through a lot in this three years. In spite of all the difficulties you are still motivated and willing to undertake a PhD. I think that your future supervisors cannot be other than very impressed with your strength and perseverance. Do apply! Good luck & a big hug.

X

Dan, fear not my friend! The gap means absolutely nothing. We have people in our department doing PhDs who have had a 20 year break since last studying. In fact, the most productive, successful PhDers in our department are the mature students who have lived a life outside of study and have brought their experiences to the table. Go for it Dan!!!

S