Doing a PHD in a different field than the one I have

J

Hello, I have a BS degree in computer engineering and a master degree from business school in Management information systems. But I started to feel an interest in social sciences , I would like to get a PHD in political science, is that possible ?taking into consideration my background ??

G

I would imagine almost certainty not (unless you mean a 1+3 that is).

J

Thanks for the reply, but can you explain what you mean by (1+3) ??

J

Hi there
I work in the field of International Politics... You are unlikely to be able to get straight onto a political science PhD unless you can show considerable transferable knowledge from your previous degrees... which seems unlikely? You may be able to get onto a masters course but even then you will have to show some kind of dedication to, and knowledge of, the subject... Maybe a year of some independent learning re: political theory etc, and some volunteering will help you on your way.

HTHs

J

Thanks, but do you suggest taking a course in a university as an independent study or I can just do an independent reading of the subject till I gain good knowledge of it

J

Thanks, but do you suggest taking a course in a university as an independent study or I can just do an independent reading of the subject till I gain good knowledge of it

S

As has already been mentioned, you need to have a very solid basis of knowledge. Political Science is a massive discipline - do you have any idea on which aspect you will research? Your research proposal would have to be rigorous as regards methodology/analytical framework and you would have to be able to justify this before you could begin your PhD.
You could do this with independent study if you have a thorough literature review, but it is highly unlikely you would get funding without a Masters (and even then the competition is incredibly fierce). Again, much depends on what you actually plan to research.

J