Doing too much?

H

Hello everyone - longtime reader, newtime poster!

As I am embarking on my 2nd year PhD after a year out (maternity), I am staring to wonder whether I am not taking on too much.

I am a fulltime student with teaching duties (6 hours a week) and a bursary. I also am a mum to 2 gorgeous children (one has just started school, the other has just turned one) and I live on my own with them quite a distance way from Uni (roughly 1h30 train commute).

I really love my thesis, my sups are relatively supportive and the little voice inside my head tells me I can do it, but when I think of the sheer amount of work, organisation and dedication required to climb this particular mountain, I get scared. I

know some PhDers who don't have other commitments spend at least 10 hours a day, 7 days a week working on their theses (nowhere near what I do) and still think it's not enough. I work for 6 hours solidely during the day and another couple of hours during the night when the children are in bed, but don't do much during the w/e and also have to get lessons ready. I have an important panel coming up, and have to submit a substantial amount of work in the next couple of weeks, and I'm getting nervous just at the thought of it!

Has anyone done it? Have you got any tips? Any thoughts much appreciated!

M

Hi here_and_there

It can be done. I know that there are several people on this forum that have only been able to contribute a few hours per day to PhD due to personal and health circumstances, and still managed to get it done.

Have a look back at some of my older posts and you will hear my tale, and top tips for making the most out of the few hours that you have available.
I truely believe that 6 hours a day is PLENTY, even with no work at weekends ( i have never worked at weekends...I try to see my PhD as a job, not a lifestyle!)

You can do it!
Good luck...and keep us posted when/if you have time.
matilda
x

J