Don't know what to do,..

T

I have been working on PhD for 3 years and my funding is now coming to and end. I got one article published not directly related to the task of the work. I have not succeeded with the final task of the work that I am doing. My work being purely experimental in field of physics. My mother just died and I got word that my second paper was rejected after second review since it did not contribute anything to the existing field. I have to write my dissertation. I don't know what to do,... I am very depressed.

I

I understand your situation and hope that this phase of life will be over and you will be back on track soon!

Though I am not from hard sciences back ground. But I would advise you to see your supervisors. Tell them the hardships that you have been going through with more recently (both financial and personal). Get a GP note and see the uni counselling services too. Try to convince your supervisor that you need extra time to finish your work. Once (hopefully) time is given to you then you can proceed with applying for writing up year grants. I applied on three grants Charles Wwallace, Hammond Trust and the Glasgow Association one and go an extra 4500 pound from these which was a heaven for me. I was an international student in Glasgow so couldn't apply for many other grants that are open for home students. Try making an effort along these lines and I wish you my very best!
Take care iman

Quote From thestargaze2:
I have been working on PhD for 3 years and my funding is now coming to and end. I got one article published not directly related to the task of the work. I have not succeeded with the final task of the work that I am doing. My work being purely experimental in field of physics. My mother just died and I got word that my second paper was rejected after second review since it did not contribute anything to the existing field. I have to write my dissertation. I don't know what to do,... I am very depressed.