Downgrading to Masters

B

======= Date Modified 26 Oct 2011 05:38:13 =======
Hi all,

I am currently a first yr PhD student in Singapore in mechanical engineering. I do not have a Master's degree and directly joined the PhD program with limited background in the field. However, I do like my field and my advisor is really supportive. As of now, I don't have a research topic and I sense that my advisor is getting frustrated by this. On my part, it feels like looking for a pearl in the ocean. Moreover, my main intention to do a PhD was to learn more about my field, but I don't have any inclination of becoming an academic. I suggested some topics to work on, but he said it will be difficult to change topic after almost a year into this and said I can probably work on this in my postdoc. Having been a project assistant as a undergrad, I have seen the hardships PhDs and PostDocs go through and I don't think that is the life I want to have. Moreover, PhD doesn't seem to be about sparking creativity and new ideas, but seems to be driven by the race to 'publish', which I really dislike. This race is pressurizing me to learn stuff quickly and is totally contrary to my belief that taking the time to understand fundamentals and making lots of mistakes is the way to learn, atleast for me. This situation is sort of chipping away at my enthusiasm for my subject..

I love the freedom of being a rookie and stumble along, and so am thinking of downgrading my PhD for Masters if they let me, or quit otherwise. Also, since I have no intention of being in academia, I suppose having breadth in understanding is more important and interesting than being really specialized in a particular field. My question is : Are my options based on sound reasoning?

Thanks a lot for this wonderful forum...
confused guy

T