Econ/Philosophy major interested in science PhD

C

Hi

I am completely new to this forum.

My basic question is whether it would be possible for me to pursue a PhD in physics or something like comp sci having never taken either of these subjects undergrad (I studied Finance and Economics).

About Me:

I am about to graduate from a top US university having studied economics and philosophy. While my courses in economics and finance are quantitative, I haven't taken any upper lever math or statistics classes. My work in philosophy has been fairly general, but I particularly like thinking about things like the problem of induction and causality. I have close to perfect grades.

I have secured one top jobs in investment banking/private equity for after I graduate and signed a 2 year contract.

I have become very interested in physics and computer science. I have never taken a course in either of these subjects but have been learning on my own.

At this point I am just wondering if I decide that the financial world is for me, whether it is possible for me to go to graduate school in a subject that like physics or computer science that I did not take a single course in during my undergrad. My transcript and recommendations can attest to the fact that I am smart, but will my lack of undergraduate courses in these subjects automatically disqualify me?

Will the fact that I spent 2 years at a respected wall street firm have any bearing on my application (if I decide to apply)?

While it is unlikely that I will end up doing this, if I decide to apply what would I need to do? Would I need to take lots of math and physics at a community college or state school to show that I am interested?

Thanks a lot for your advice. I have been thinking about this for a while and just wanted to see what you all think so that I can put this idea to rest.

C

Hi Curious