ELIGIBILITY?

S

Hi,
Currently I finished my MAsters and looking for research. Being an international student , When can I be eligible for EU nationality?

Is that when I stay here for 3 years( 1yr MS+ 2 YR...PSW)......Does this be eligibility to apply for PhD after 3 years as EU national/./?

or

We should on job visa for 3 yrs...?

Currently I finished my MSc... and looking forward for research.. But I got rejection letters from top universities......

feeling frustated...and confused... on next step.........?

C

======= Date Modified 06 Apr 2009 07:55:40 =======

You won't be eligible for 'EU Citizenship' after three years. If you mean residency in or citizenship of an EU member state, then this is a process you have to apply for and will vary state to state. If you are in the UK then I think you might be talking about eligibility for funding for a PhD? You normally have to be resident in a country for several years for reasons other than education to be eligible for a studentship - though this may not apply to some posts/projects...

I think you should probably talk to your univeristy international students advisory - since an internet forum might not give you the best advice. But as a point - you could do a MA and PhD in the UK for X years on a student visa - but this would not give you British citizenship (and by extension a passport enabling you to have residency without a visa in other EU states). If residency is a goal then you will need to apply down the appropriate immigration channels...

If a research PhD is your goal keep applying around and stick in there! Good luck.

S

thanks for your reply...From first my aim was to do research, its not all citizenship...As many of the funded projects were for UK/EU nationals, I placed query..
With regard to my rejection letters, I just dont know where went wrong?? May i know the criteria in assessment of application for research(PhD) .. ??

P