Ex-supervisor ruining my chances?

P

Hello. I'm new to this forum, but I'm looking for some real advice.

I finished my phd a good few months back (coming up to 9 months now). It wasn't the nicest experience I've had, and basically I came out the other side of the phd with zero support from my then supervisor. I've been applying to plenty of jobs in the last 9 months, I've had some interviews but can never seem to get past the interview stage. I realise that finding a job in today's economic climate isn't easy, so I've been trying to keep an open and positive mind. But my last interview feedback has got me feeling a little suspicious of my circumstances. One feedback from an interviewer (who knows my ex-supervisor) explicitly told me over the phone that I didn't get the job because of my ex-supervisor. They also said that they didn't want to put this in writing hence the phone call feedback.

Now I don't know what to make of this. My ex-supervisor is not the nicest person in the world, but could she be giving a bad reference and could a poor reference be enough to prevent me landing a job? I'm kind of stuck otherwise on the referee front, considering most job applications I've seen require your phd supervisor to be a referee.

I'm either going crazy with not being able to land a job, or this is something that I should be worried about. And if it's the latter, how do I tackle this?! Now I'm beginning to wonder if poor references have been the reason for most post interview rejections in the last 9 months. I don't know where to turn with this issue, considering everyone I've had contact with in the last 3 years know my ex-supervisor, and will inform her of everything. :/

Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you!

I

Dear PhD Default