Experiences of actually studying your PhD?

S

I've been looking for a PhD for a while in between research jobs, but I've actually had pitiful opportunities to actually talk to existing or recently graduated PhD students about how they coped/ worked in their 3 year course.

For those of you currently on or have just finished, please could you share your experiences of the 1st, 2nd, 3rd year etc, tutor support or problems, confidences, jobs etc, just an idea of what the process actually feels like. Alternatively, if you know of a decent blog or article on the subject, please post that too.

G

I am an advanced Phd student (post-viva) and got Revision and Resubmission outcome ( already half way through with my corrections, submitting early next year). But, it was for a good cause. I definitely did not get adequate support from my supervisors who said they could not supervise me anymore and I had no option but to submit the thesis when it clearly was not ready. It was my examiners who have been very generous and personally interested in my research. My experience says that first of all choose supervisors that you get along well with and can be there for you in all kinds of academic and non-academic crisis as you will be spending so much time with them. You should have excellent communication skills and you have to be professional in your approach. I have seen students who treat PhDs like a job often perform better and feel better than people like me who love to do Phd for doing only research and hang around in libraries. Don't chase big names unless you know your personal life is already in good shape, which is rare for most students as it means relocating in a different city and mostly sacrificing most of your likings in the pursuit of a Phd. Secondly, choose a University which is known for research more than teaching. In the later case, the faculty life will be awful which means the supervision too will be pathetic. In a research dominated university, students get a