Extension year

P

Hi all,

Just a quick question, for people in their write up year/extension year- were you still provided with desk space, access to university sources?

I'm probably going to lose my desk space (as new staff are starting and I don't exactly have priority of a desk as it's made clear to me that I'm only a student). I just curious to see what peoples situations are like in terms of extension year or write up year.

It's a shame as I've got rather used to having this office and unit as a base but I've been made to feel that I don't deserve to have a desk if I'm in a write up year.

I probably could work from home during write up year. I probably don't actually need a desk here, but I'm probably going to be asked to leave to allow for new members of staff to set themslelves up.

What are peoples thoughts?

S

Hey Pineapple!

Oh yes, I'm in the same position as you - I have to clear my desk space by the end of August for the newbies. I can understand why they need the space, but I've already turned into a hermit spending my life in my office (I worked out yesterday that I haven't even seen the living room of my house for nearly a week), and it would be nice to be able to go and, y'know, physically be in the presence of other people. Plus, having to work from homw is causing major probs with my housemate who seems to think that as I work from home and she has a job that I should clean up after her.
(she tried a phd and failed, but still argues that her job is harder than my phd, yes dear)

C

Hi Pineapple,