failed the upgrade-MPhil is offered

K

Hi people,
I am in my second year of PhD. I had the upgrade viva in which I was recommended to submit and MPhil. I was not prepared at all about this. I was in shock partly because of what I submitted got good feedback and partly because of my supervisors not giving me any warnings or signs (apart from: your analysis is taking long). I was judged by the examiners as not having the stats skills I should by now for carrying out a succesful PhD. At first (apart from being shocked and deeply sad), I refused to go for an MPhil. However, reading some of the forums' threads on this, doing a PhD has not been exciting for me- it has been very much viewed as a job. I guess that this is not necessarily the correct feeling for something like this.
I would like to hear some of your views on doing or doing an MPhil.What difference does it make in a cv for different jobs? And anything else that you think I need to think of.:-(

K

Just to rephrase and ask a few more things since I had no replies yet. I have decided to appeal-do you know the exact possible "bad" things that can come out from this and affect me? Also, has anyone gone for an MPhil? If yes, when did they find out that this was the case and what was the exact process? I have chosen a topic that is well researched but I had a population that is very unique and understudied. This was mainly the originality. Would you think that this would be a good enough argument for a PhD thesis? Also, aware that the roles of supervisors and students are unique for every single person, in general, what was your supervisor's contribution to identify weaknesses and act upon these to help you overcome them?

ps. I just realised that I have cited almost none of their work.How bad is this?(and I just realised the inadequacy of my supervisors):-(:$

Please any thoughts and opininos you can offer would be very helpful to me right now.

K