Feeback from faculty

S

i have completed my first year phd. and the feedback i have gotten is that i am not good at proactively building relations with faculty and seeking research opportunities. I think the problem is that i just dont go and chit chat with faculty if i dont have anything specific to do. and apprently this seems to be v important in the US context. Any thoughts or advice????

S

I mean if i do not have any specific question or need to meet with the faculty..... i dont interact....my rapport building is weak....

J

Seems like an odd thing to say: my first year report focused only on research plans and preliminary results. Are you in the US then?

B

Do you go to many events/conferences/study days in your field? I've been going to these primarily because I thought the content would be useful but chatting to other attendees while I've been there has led to connections with other researchers/institutions - I'm not massively out-going but it just seems to happen. Maybe just try to get out and meet a few more people.

S

try and practice smalltalk on people? start with people at parties and then build up to people at your faculty
it's very important to be able to talk to other researchers at conferences (and at your own faculty) because networking DOES lead to research/job opportunities, so they do have a point. i'm not very good at smalltalk, but i do give it a good try...

S

yep i am in US.....

O

The US--the home of the have a nice day culture--surely values chitchat and small talk. It doesn't have to mean anything at all, superficial exchanges are normal, generally speaking. I am not sure if you are British, but I had ( and have!) culture shock about this in the UK, where small talk is not exchanged, and people sort of glide past each other in invisible self contained pods. Yes, this is all generalization, but!

O