Feeling down and out :(

P

Hello

Just wanted a bit of a rant really!

Anyone else out there struggling with their PhD?! I'm just feeling really run down, tired and shattered as a result of juggling all these aspects of my life! Trying to get my upgrade report in, worries about passing my upgrade (and feelings of I don't deserve this position!); dealing with very critical pushy supervisors; office politics of being the only student in my department (shunned aside/choices withheld-'coz im only a student); marking essays; dealing with weekly seminar teachings, trying to cope with a devatsting breakup and coming to terms with that (even though we're still as close as ever); organising my own pilot finally, conducting fieldwork which is not completely relevant to my PhD!

Arrrrrrrrrrrghhhhh! just making me wonder why I am putting myself through it! I do enjoy this PhD, it does have its perks but, boy, its tough! :)

H

Pineapple you have pretty much summed up the PhD experience. It doesn't get much easier as a postdoc. But then a PhD is so rewarding in the end - keep with it and as this forum is so excellent at doing - remember you are not alone!-)

L

you aren't alone. At least you still enjoy your PhD. Just think it will pass with time and keep your chin up and soldier on!

S

sorry to hear that you are having a hard time!

sometimes when in a similar situation, it helps me to become aware of how much i am actually doing (teaching, projects, private stuff like moving house, etc.) and realise that it is so much, it is really normal that i am exhausted and lack energy.

it also helps to know that these periods are part of the process. maybe after a few months you will realise that you actually formed some very important thoughts in this time, all the while thinking you were just being distracted.

oh and i sympathise with the essay marking. that's one of the worst things i ever had to do, it seriously transforms my brain into mush.

P