Feeling inadequate and taking a long time to finish

S

I am a PhD student and currently at 4 yrs 6 wks into candidature. Although it’s not always been the case, it’s been tough lately at write-up, with conceptualising everything adequately and getting a consistent picture from lit review to hypotheses to results and conclusions and with the nuances of my particular topic and research method/samples.

My supervisor is very helpful (although very busy and a mistake I think is that earlier on we didn’t spend enough time to really conceptualise everything concretely and think about the research questions and analysis more specifically), and has given me a lot of feedback and editing on my drafts. But I just feel inadequate, and think things like – why am I still, at this stage, drafting things that need so much editing from my supervisor?

At the moment I really struggle with:

· Constantly, every day, feeling stupid.
· Taking more than the allocated 3 years to complete the PhD. Because I have taken 4 years to complete (and still not there) this triggers me to think that I am too slow to understand and grasp concepts and apply them (have always thought this about myself), and slow to write up. Those that have been able to complete in the 3 or even 3.5 years and have won an awared for their thesis must clearly have been able to ‘get it right’ much earlier than what I did – so what am I doing wrong? (People constantly asking when am i finishing doesn't help either! :))
· I look to others’ intellectual ability and progress to see how they are doing to see if I really am right in thinking this - I KNOW everyone says not to compare yourself to others, but I do it to try to check for evidence for my opinion that I’m slow – I’m actually looking for evidence that I’m being too harsh on myself. My supervisor has pointed out chapters and things that I have done very well, but I feel that there is so much that I haven’t done well.