Feeling miserable and wanting to quit

S

Hi all,

I am a first year phd student in astronomy - about 8 months in.
Being a scientist has been my childhood dream. But somehow I am just not as into it as I thought I would be. I came back to study after a few years in industry because I feel like I couldn't go through life without trying to be a scientist. It's so hard to live on a phd stipend whilst doing something no one really cares about. I think it is partly my topic - it's just not that interesting. But it's also me - I am not digging deep enough into it. I imagined I would be really passionate about my research and would not care about living near the poverty line - but the reality is that I miss having a normal salary.

I haven't done anything over the last 3 weeks. I have this nagging voice in my head telling me this phd is such a drag and none of it is interesting at all. However, quitting now would mean I waste a year of my life. Plus I have no idea what else to do. I feel like I am drifting and I have no idea what to do with my career. Even if I continue with my phd I wouldn't want to be an academic anyway (which would mean my phd would be pretty much useless career-wise).

Has anyone experienced the same feelings? What should I do?? (I know no one can tell me what to do, but I just feel so lost and depressed at the moment any suggestions would be welcome)

J

Heya

This probably won't be the most useful response, but hello. I'm about the same way in and I think I feel a similar way about it. It's like being stuck on an escalator where there's a multitude of exits but no idea which one to take, and if you don't get off in time you're stuck there. That's how it feels to me anyway. Have you felt like this for a while or is it just a blip?