Feeling very sad.

N

Hi,
I made an account to ask for advice for something that has been disturbing me for some time and I found this topic http://www.postgraduateforum.com/thread-13158
I am a self-funded student and I am frequently mocked by the same scholarship student for not being invited to events that are open only to scholarship students. She loves bringing up the opportunities that she has when I am around so I have exiled myself to use the kitchen after or before her to avoid getting again in the "why am I doing this?" "Is this worthwhile?" questions to myself with no answer.
This issue gets me to tears on a daily basis and I really do not know how I will make myself thick-skinned enough to continue with my PhD (two more years).
She has bragged for getting a scholarship without a supervisor (which is true, she was looking for more than a month to find someone who would be willing to supervise her) and without been interviewed (which I had to). And I am not really hurt by her; the annoying reality is that the Department took these decisions. And I cannot really respond to her mocking because they are all true!
Now I am told that I cannot apply for a scholarship since I have already enrolled, and I want to scream that had I known, I would have not accepted the offer!
I wanted to talk to our graduate director, however, I am not sure if I should talk to people who took the decision about her scholarship about how this turned out.
Don't get me wrong, I knew that academia is not the citadel of justice in advance, but this is emotional abuse on a weekly basis (I do not manage to avoid her successfully every day) and I have started breaking apart...
Any ideas on how to handle it?
Any self-funded students who have been able to make a career in research?

H

Quote From Nape3:

Now I am told that I cannot apply for a scholarship since I have already enrolled, and I want to scream that had I known, I would have not accepted the offer!