First Year, first sememster

T

Hey,

I am a first year PHD student and i feel that i haven't really done very much. I have revised my proposal three times and finally settled on a structure for my topic.
Which i am really happy with and feel i have taken a big step in my research.

Is this normal or should i have actually written something more substantial.

I have read loads of resources, taken loads of notes.

Some of the other students have written literature reviews 15000 words.

I know that it depends on the student and the topic but Where is everyone else at?

N

Hiya,

I'm a first year and started in September. I'm studying part-time so I'm technically only two months in. So far most of my time has been taken up with reading, reading and more reading. Apart from that, I've been working on how I can organise my time and my notes.

As far as writing goes, I've done a 2k initial lit review so my supervisors could see where I was up to and we could discuss the next steps in our meeting. I don't know if that's 'normal' but it feels pretty healthy for me.

T

Thanks For the reply,

Yeah, reading more reading. I have started a breakdown of the research which inculdes a timetable. Hoping to get at least 5k done by the end of Jan.  I am being told that normally the student changes everything numerous times before submitting in third year.

I normally work at least 4hrs a day, five days a week. This depends on what classes/meetings i have to attend, which i think that's pretty normal.

W

Hi Tigger,
Yep get the feeling of not having done much. Three months in and my lab work is the grand example of things that didn't work!

I still don't know where my PhD will take me (got to get the reaction working first) and I am not too worried that I just have vague ideas of what I'd like to be doing in a years time.Writing up my lit review (for my 3 month review) over Christmas and I am expecting it to be a few thousand words tops.