First year PhD - what did you guys manage to accomplish?

R

I'm a first-year PhD student (neuroscience), just hoping to get a bit of feedback from you guys cos I'm slightly worried about my pace of working.

Would anyone be able to share a general time-line of what they did in the first year? Like, first 3 months, next three months, etc? Ever since my PhD started I keep getting plagued by deep anxiety (usually first thing Monday morning) about whether I'm working fast enough, or being productive enough, etc etc etc. Especially since every now and then there is a lull in my testing (due to room bookings or whatever), and I don't know what I should be doing in the meanwhile, and whether I can relax or what.

S

Don't worry, I felt like I was doing nothing nothing for the first 6 months or so, then gradually felt I was doing more. I'm now a year in and I feel like I've done loads if I think about what I knew at the beginning. I'm working as an RA whilst I do my PhD (it's the same thing, my RA work is my PhD work) and for the first 6 months it felt like they were basically paying me to browse the internet! I think most people feel that they're not doing much for the first few months (except a lucky few!). Eventually you'll get into the swing of things and you'll wish you had the spare time you had before.

J

======= Date Modified 15 Nov 2011 09:21:49 =======
============= Edited by a Moderator =============
--inappropriate content--

J

======= Date Modified 15 Nov 2011 09:21:27 =======
============= Edited by a Moderator =============
--inappropriate content--

T

I am having the same problem. I am three months into my PHD and feel i am reading, browsing and doing little bits of writing. I was concerned so asked some of the other second year students, they said they were doing the same for the first 9 months and it was only after the viva that they realised "oh, i have been doing concrete work".