First year report - Should I be panicking this much?

S

Hi everyone,

I've searched through old threads to find similar questions but wasnt successful (but I apologise if this has been discussed before)

I've been doing a science PhD for about 8 months now, but today was the first time it all really hit me. We have to submit a 1st year progress report before christmas (with a mini-viva in january). Now I have been collating all my data, I realise how badly I've been doing everything (not writing down key details, not doing enough replicates, making really simple mistakes). I think my interpretation of the results is horrendous and am seriously thinking about failure. My supervisor gave me back a first draft with red pen pretty much through everything, though they have given a lot of advice to sort out my report and make it submittable. I'm certain I've just had some sort of panic attack and really seriously am on the verge of crying. I just wasn't expecting this much worry. It sounds silly as its nothing compared to what the final dissertation will be, but is this common for a first year progress report? Did anyone else get this stressed or worried at the end of the first year?

Thanks for any responses! :-) Back to writing now.........:-(

C

======= Date Modified 12 Dec 2010 06:25:02 =======
In the UK system, the transfer-exam/mini viva is by no means serious business,

I have never heard of anyone in my graduate school(usually considered top 1 or 2 in my area of research) who has failed it, you dont need to put near half of your efforts to get a pass.

Based on my rather limited experience (I am an oversea student), I think in this country, for a PhD programme, the only thing that matters is your PhD thesis/final viva.

S

hi Seven :-)
hows your progress report coming along :-)
don't worry about all the mistakes you made.
Everybody makes mistakes.