Funding allocation decision (data analysis)

H

Hi all,
I'm in my second year of a social sciences PhD, and have just completed a batch of interviews that now need to be transcribed before I can start analysis. I have 28 interviews at approx 60 mins each, which need to be transcribed verbatim inclusive of all pauses, coughs etc.
In a meeting a couple of months ago, my supervisors and I agreed that this was going to be a quite a lengthy process, and take up a lot of time which could be better spent. We agreed to submit a funding application to the faculty, to pay for professional transcription. I completed the form, got a quote from a recommended company etc...and the application was refused on the grounds that money for this type of thing is not routinely given out.

I'm super frustrated and anxious about this, as when discussing it with my sups it was agreed that the level of detail needed in the transcriptions is going to take up a lot of the summer period, and that outsourcing this was a good idea. Obviously they are not responsible for the committee's decision, but they designed my project and knew from the outset that it would involve transcription. Why didn't they secure money for this at the start of the project? It probably would have been easier for them to do/make a case for as FT academics, rather than me.

This really hasn't come at a good time as I'm becoming increasingly disillusioned with academia, the way the system treats people, the expectations placed on PhD students, the job prospects, whether my research even matters. This isn't helping me at all.

Anyway, I was wondering whether this is normal practice - have/would your faculty fund transcription to allow you to get to work on analysis more quickly? For context, my analysis is extremely fine grained (deliberately being vague in case any colleagues read this), and involves very closing reading of the data that usually pushes people into a fourth year to finish their writing up.

T