Funding or the right course!

S

Recently I got an offer to study an MSc which includes payment of my fees and a 13K stipend. This totally suprised me as my grades were not of 1st class standard (although my research project scored high) and having recently been rejected from another uni I thought I didn't even have a chance.

On the day of rejection from my first option I immediately called up another uni and arranged for immediate interview. The next day I was interviewed and verbally offered a place (despite a waiting list) which I verbally accepted. The course to do a research masters was ideal as this would mean full-time in the lab and no exams. Plus I was very grateful as I was desperate to start in October and they were very kind.

The problem is that two weeks after I now have this MSc offer (at the same university)with a generous stipend but not the ideal course as only six months rather than nine months will be spent in the lab. Plus I feel obliged to take up the MRes offer as I have commited verbally.

So confused as this seems to be an easy decision.....

H

Congrats on both places. If you have verbally commited yourself, you can still back out, so don't worry about that. There are certain things you need to consider such as: Can you easily afford to fund the Mres? Apart from the time spent in lab, which course has a better content? What are you planning on doing after (a Phd?)

Can you find out if there is any funding available for the MRes? Explain your dilema to the course coordinator and see if they have any advice.

I have to say, 13K for a Masters stipend is quite a lot! Is this a one or two year course?

C

Hi,