Funds low but how much grief do you take from part-time employers?

B

Hey all,
Just giving a rant (I have been told I do a good one :-s ).

Basically my stipend has finished and now reliant on part-time work (mostly teaching). I don't get paid any prep work at all and have only recently started teaching two courses (one, an intensive advanced Excel, the other on an application just being rolled out). I have been teaching for ten years and have been thrown in at the deep end several times (a few hours notice or no material from previous teachers).
Now, in the space of two weeks, I have been complained to twice. I have rock solid defences but might have to burn a few people in order to use them (contradicting instructions from previous teachers and basically was a bit nervous as was teaching the stuff for first time). But was just wondering, how much s!it do we have to put up with in order to keep the money flowing and more importantly, does the morals take a distant second in all this? I mean, we all have enough to deal with already!!!

Really pi$$e$ me off as it is basically public sector full time staff who will NEVER lose their jobs complaining about me ... really having trouble biting the tongue on this and not reaching across for the tin opener and a can of Whoop-a$$! I mean, I am doing this to keep me just above the surface and if any major expense (car repairs etc.,) happens soon, I would last as long as a (snowman) in Hell!

Any opinions, thoughts or similar stories.

hmm, I was having a heated debate recently with someone about school teaching. They were saying that school teachers are worked too hard and I pointed out that uni lecturers have to do the same amount of work, but also have to find time for the research side and all the publications PLUS consultancy/other work because the pay is SOOO bad! Anyway, I think I won?

======= Date Modified 21 Jan 2010 20:11:59 =======
======= Date Modified 21 Jan 2010 20:10:15 =======