Getting started tips?

C

Hi everyone, a newbie here 😊
I started my PhD 4 weeks ago and was just wondering if anyone had any tips on getting started? My supervisors seem quite happy with my spending the next few months ‘background reading’ without coming up with any kind of research question.

Having come from a very output focused background, I’m having difficulties accepting that all I have to do is reading (and motivating myself to do it). Any suggestions? I seem to have spent most of today procrastinating!

You are reading with a purpose. While it may initially seem like you are reading a range of material that is quite broad and diffuse in relation to your general topic, you are essentially surveying the field and ascertaining where there are gaps and where these gaps may feed your into your curiosity and potentially help frame your research questions. It is a very difficult task you are undertaking even though you may feel you are just bumbling along and not doing much.

The other thing of course is that, once you do sniff the elusive gap and start honing in on your question, you rarely get the same opportunity to read so broadly as you have to narrow down your focus into the specific topic-going from macro into micro. So, while it seems a bit ironic, try to savour this part as it soon passes and there is a point on the horizon that will be upon you soon, whereby your reading will be notably focused and quite narrow in range. Best luck and best wishes, P.

C

Thanks, I'm still struggling a bit - With motivation mainly, keeping going is proving difficult!

I think my problem is that I'm being advised to read stuff that's not even related to my field in order to familiarise myself with the issues - The "elusive gap" is so big in my field of research I could drive a tank through it! And if you'd seen me drive, you'd know that is no mean feat!