Going for PhD later in life

Z

Hi, I've been toying around with the idea of going to get my PhD for years. I partially regret not doing right after my undergraduate schooling. I've since finished a masters and did really overly well, even put together several projects that were initially turned down because they were at PhD level.

To add more info, I've been working in the Biotechnology area for about 10 years now and have done really well for myself (I currently hold a position usually only held by PhDs in a very large company, competitive company). This kind of work has been just that work, nothing I see as a career so I haven't even really applied myself.

My undergrad and masters were focused on marine science and I have always wanted to work in that field. I've hit a point in my life were pursuing a career I enjoy is more important than just working for a paycheck.

My question is, at 30, married, with a small child, would it be advisable to go back for a PhD now? I'm in a situation now, were I will be getting rid of all of my debt (being relocated for current job so they are selling my house - will have until 2010 before I could start a program), so it seems like a good time to think about making the leap as it were. I have some contacts in my field of interest and a few possible ideas for research programs. I also assume my current contacts in industry and my diverse research background in molecular biology, microbiology, etc... would be of some benefit to potential academic advisors.

Any and all comments welcome.

Thanks

S