Going from 2nd author to 5th author

L

Hi people,

In 2013 I finished my MSc degree with a thesis - the results of which were publishable. The initial idea was that I would write a paper based on my thesis. I would be listed as the first author while my supervisors would be listed as the 2nd and 3rd authors. Subsequent to my defence I got a PhD position at another university and time consumption with my PhD project made it difficult for me to prioritize my work with the paper based on my thesis

One of my former supervisors called me and offered that my other former supervisor would take over the work associated with writing and trying to get the paper published. This person would then become the first author, while I would be the 2nd author. I accepted this because I know how much work is involved with converting a MSc thesis to a publishable paper.

We submitted and received the manuscript back with major revisions. Some more significant work was needed and I didn't have the time to work on the manuscript. Today, I saw that I was no longer the 2nd author but became the 5th author on the 2nd submission of the manuscript. I didn't hear anything from my former supervisor, who is the corresponding author and I was a bit surprized and dissapointed.

I should note that since the corresponding author took over the process of converting my MSc thesis to a manuscript, I have basically not been involved in the process - I just received updates about the progress on occassion.

Since I have very little experience with manuscript submission, I don't know whether this is standard practice. I understand that more work was needed in the preparation of the 2nd manuscipt submission, but at the same time, it was agreed upon that I would be the 2nd author.

What do you guys think?

T