Going insane...but I don't want to quit!

E

Hi all,

I feel like I am going insane! My PhD is turning into a disaster...I am in my third year and I lack any kind of productive data. This has been the case for quite a long time, but I've hung in there distracting myself and just kept pushing. But I don't know do I have the energy to keep this up for another or year or more likely two as I don't see it possible to graduate any sooner.
I am so unmotivated and depressed, the whole thing is such a mess and I don't know what to do anymore :-(

J

Hi ERADcrazy, It would seem a pity to me if you packed it in having come this far. You have 3 years done and you indicate that it may take 1-2 more years which is less time than what you've already done so I'd be inclined to urge you to go for it.
I'm not sure if you're in the humanities and social sciences or if you're in the sciences but I know that I initially obtained data that wasn't particularly useful and after 6 months of that scrapped it and started a new approach to acquiring data so that is perhaps one option for you. On the other hand I'd recommend talking through it with the supervisor and seeing what you can get from/make out of the data you currently have. This approach might require you altering your research question or topic a little bit to 'fit' the data but if it gets you there in the end then it'd be worth it maybe.
I don't know if you've been feeling down for a while but I will say we all go through the doldrums at some point. One day you can feel like you're at the cutting edge and the next day you are wondering what you're doing! That's quite natural I think for the PhD process.
Hope some of this helps. Maybe someone else will have more helpful views on what your options may be.(up)

J

======= Date Modified 25 Jun 2012 22:52:13 =======
Edit: double post. I keep double posting dammit!

F