Has the law really won?

I

I kinda fell into doing my Ph.D did a under-grad law degree, I'd always felt uneasy with practising law, for myriad reasons I didn't feel it was for me so I did a masters course, I found an affinity with an area of law that I had never expected and as a result got a really good degree, far beyond what I expected. I took a year out to try to find some direction. All the graduate jobs I looked at looked either soul destroying or just demonstrated law is not necessarily a very transferable degree. By this time I was working full-time on a year out, I actually really enjoyed it, menial as it was it was great fun and kept me really busy. I've always felt guilty that I was just wasting any talent I had, that I was just drifting - much as that kind of freedom appealed, my guilt always reminded I had to do something I ought to do if that makes sense. By this time I'd get friendly with my would-be supervisor, I was inspired interested and could really see I could apply myself to some really interesting problems,

I

I applied for a place and completely contrary to expectations got Research Council funding and thought I'd be stupid not to take it up.

That was probably the high point. Once I get under-way I quickly felt out my depth. My supervisor took a very hands off approach, with months and months elapsing between any kind of contact, in truth I had no idea what I was doing, I didn't know where to begin, I just didn't feel equipped. I can't blame them, they are pretty prominent in their field and have a lot in the department but it's so disheartening when you feel even your supervisor doesn't think your work is of any importance. Luckily I did and still do a lot of under-grad teaching and that kept me busy. It's kinda been my saviour, I still teach a lot, do some lecturing and pretty much run two optional modules, it's great but as far the Uni. is concerned it counts for nothing, if I didn't do it someone else would.

I