Help - How can I improve my chances of studying at PhD level and securing funding to do so??

R

Evening all,

I'll cut straight to the chase. I'm currently studying an MSc in Sports Coaching. I don't currently have an undergraduate degree and was accepted onto the Sports Coaching course as I have a playing background at professional level.

I'm currently working part-time as a strength & conditioning coach at a Championship level football club and am extremely interested in researching at PhD level as I'm extremely passionate about my field. I am hopeful that I will have passed my full UK Strength & Conditioning accreditation exam by May 2011 which ties in exactly with the completion of my masters.

I have a few questions:

* Will I be able to study at PhD level or will my lack of undergrad degree harm my chances?
* As above but will that affect my chances of obtaining funding to do the PhD?
* Are there any other non-academic work experiences that could make my academic CV look more attractive to the Universities and lecturers I will be approaching?
* When is the ideal time to approach Universities with my research proposals? (I check jobs.ac.uk, bases.org.uk and findaphd.com on pretty much a daily basis!!)

Thanks all for your help. It is greatly appreciated!!!

(up)

W

Hi RC23, I could be wrong, but as a bare minimum I'm pretty sure you need an undergraduate degree in a relevant discipline (generally 2.1+ for funding) to do a PhD. Have you thought about doing an undergrad first at the OU, perhaps? I've never heard of anyone going straight onto a doctorate without at least a BSc or BA.

W

Sorry, I've stupidly missed the first bit of your post (I'm tired) - disregard what I said earlier. I think you'd be able to do a PhD with only an MSc, but funding could be difficult because a lot of people you are competing may have both an undergrad and MSc. Sorry I can't be more help.

N