help me please!!!

A

hey guys!
ok, so when I found out I got my PhD it was the best thing ever and its the only thing i wanted to do when i finished my undergrad degree! However, I have just started and while I'm really into it, and can't wait to really get stuck into it, I'm finding the first few weeks a nightmare! For some reason I just can't concentrate properly and even after cancelling all social life in favour of a good nights sleep, I find myself falling asleep every afternoon at my desk! I'm feeling like a bit of a fraud right now, and I'm just waiting for my supervisor to find me out!
Is this normal for starting a PhD and any tips on staying awake?!!

J

I was like you just after finishing mu undergrad degree (although I was working). I think the tiredness can be put down to nerves (nerves also causes an inability to concentrate and make decisions). I don't mean that you're actually on edge, but on some level you're bound to be a bit anxious.

You're not alone in feeling like a fraud, either: keep reading this forums and you'll soon relaise everyone else thinks they are a fraud, too.

J

Apologies for the lousy spelling...it's hot and stuffy in my office today and I can't concentrate either

A

you know what juno, i think ur right! ive been so worried that i cant do it ive been making it worse! but no more! thanks! and btw, anyone know exactly what an envelope function is in stastical analysis?!

D

As you are nervous, have you been eating more things like chocolate bars, donuts, crisps etc or anything else sugary around 11am-12ish? Might explain your falling asleep 30minutes after.

A

nope, ive been drinking water so much im peeing like a mad thing, and lunch is usually a sandwich, earl grey tea, fruit and a wee freddo choc bar! but no matter what lunch is i fall asleep! :D ive tried the whole going for a walk thing and drinking coffee and lucozade and then avoiding coffee and lucozade, but i think im just meant to sleep!

S