HELP! PLEASE ADVISE

M

Hi everyone, I really need some honest advice from somone who knows a bit about how things run in academia. I am a current History MSc student (a fairly good one), who has just applied at the same institution to do my PhD in History/English lit., after a lot of encouragement and support from lecturers in History, and in English lit. (I have 2 people who have agreed to supervise me - one in each dept., my primary in History).

I was a bit shocked when I got a letter saying that I had been rejected on the grounds that there was no one appropriate to supervise me. I immediatey emailed saying 'But I have TWO supervisors', and they wrote back explaining that my primary supervisor (history) should be changed to my secondary - thus putting me i the English department, meaning a new application, and changing my proposal slightly. This is ludicrous. My supervisor has told me to just do what they ask and think of the bigger picture and just getting in, and he will do all he can to help.

I am suddenly worried though, that the problem is not me (just given all the encouragement i've had, the head of dept. even told me he was very excited about it etc)- do you think it could be the supervisor I have chosen?? He is fairly junior i think. I'm now applying though the English department, but can someone tell me honestly what they think the problem might be? Is there politics going on here? I'm not sure whether to stick with him and do as he says (go along with it), or just ask for another supervisor...

Y

Hi Max,

I imagine from your proposal, it seemed that the focus might have been in the English department, or that you would benefit most from a primary supervisor in that field. If your History supervisor is teaching, and/or published, then I can't imagine they would go around rejecting good students on the grounds that he isn't up to scratch - surely they would get rid of him, or not let him supervise phd?