Hoping to pick a better man (or womans) brain!

R

Hi all,

I have a wee question I don't seem to be able to answer with some extensive googling so I'm hoping a knowledgeable forum member can help me!
I'd like to find myself a PhD, I have a BSc in genetics, and MSc in medical molecular genetics and Grad cert in biomedical sciences. At the moment I work for the NHS in a cell therapies department - we're building the first UK CTL cell bank for use in cancer patients, under funding from the Wellcome Trust. I've found a research group in Edinburgh who are affiliated with my current employers and whose focus is cellular therapies - I'd like to send an enquiry email putting myself forward as a prospective PhD candidate should they find funding for one but I'm not sure how to word it! Somehow I don't think 'Pleeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaase give me a studentship' is quite the way to go!! I actually work with their clinical director, but I'm not sure if it's appropriate to approach him asking to move to a job somewhere else - we're incredibly short staffed as it is (God Bless the NHS spending cuts!), my boss'd freak out if he knew I wanted to leave. Is sending prospective emails the done thing? How do I word it - just 'Hi, I know who you are, here's my CV' sort of thing??

Also - how does it work in a PhD if you need maternity leave? Am I entitled to the same protection as I would be in a job? It's not a major issue at the moment, but the other half is worryingly broody and I always feel it's best to be armed with knowledge!

Hope I'm not asking utterly daft questions and that everyone is having a good Monday - just think, one less day until it's the weekend again!

Rhi x

M

Hi there,