Hostility from uni staff :(

P

Hi all,

Just wondered if anyone is experiencing anything similar?

I'm working as part of a team within an well funded academic department. There are at least two members of staff who are on my team who keep pointing out to people 'oh your only a student' or within meetings to other people 'here's our student' (emphasis on student).

There is one particular member of staff (she's a few years old than me- I'm 28) who is receiving pressure from the project leads about doing a PhD so that she can assume more managerial positions and responsibilities.

I've been here for nearly three years now, and she STILL points out that I'm a student. I'm fully aware of my status as a student! Anyway, it's coming off in such a way that she's using it to put me down etc- and it's driving me insane!!

There has been other problems with this member of staff ie, undermining my work in front of other people, excluding me from publications when she's directly copied from my work, deciding to take my desk without asking whilst I was away with fieldwork and concentrating on my student status within meetings and other things.

Maybe it's the J word coming into play here (I'll obtain my PhD in 3+years, I have no real committments- she has two young children etc etc), although, I've immediately kept my supervisors informed of the above, but it doesn't make it any easier when I'm trying to finish this blimen PhD off!

Sorry rant over! It's just making me feel really annoyed and grumpy over particular staff members attitudes :(

E

I don't know how much this will help but I have not considered myself a student since I completed my first degree. UNIs are now businesses and I see myself as a client if I'm bringing an income in. I expect respect and I give it.

I can't see to find anything in your post that you have done anything about this. Can you get a meeting organised between the two of you and explain you arn't happy and see what can be done?

R