How do I make my writing style more academic?

P

One of the criticisms of my work is that my writing style isn't academic enough. I was a journalist for many years so I had to write for the lowest common denominator. My subject is really interesting and I enjoy writing which may mean I get carried away with my ideas and become less academic in style. But I don't really know how to change this. I hate reading work which is full of long obscure words and convoluted sentences and usually give up because I don't undestand the content. My supervisor says my work is well-written and easy to understand but that could be a nice way of saying it is too simplistic. I am booked on to an academic writing course soon but would appreciate any suggestions on how to improve academic style without becoming pretentious and difficult to read.

H

What sort of field are you in? You may get different answers from science/humanties/arts students on this one.

Good academic writing needn't (shouldn't!) be hard to read. I think the main difference is tone. I'll add more depending on what your area is?

S

I'm surprised to hear this as a criticism - are you sure it is meant as such? A lot of academic writing is clearly written with a total disregard as to whether it can be easily understood - it's so much more important to be seen as clever. I have had to try and be a little more formal and dry than I would normally - but I spent many years working on educational materials for primary schools and my style often relfects that - I really do try to be as clear as possible. People seem to appreciate it - I've given presentations which I thought might be too, er, child-like in parts but were then well-recieved.

Don't worry about being too simple - I really don't think you can be! But perhaps you just need to be more formal and less chatty?

A