How does one avoid an MPhil award when pursuing a PhD

S

I've recently started my PhD so it's probably far to early to worry about this...

I'm continuously reading into my research area. I've found a lot of information and (again probably too early to worry) but I'm not finding any massive gaps in the literature; the openings simply seem to be simple techniques not yet applied. This is my first worry.

However, this worry has meant I've scared myself by finding horror stories of poor people who've received an MPhil for clear contributions to their fields. Therefore my main question is, what qualifies one for an MPhil and not for a PhD? How does one avoid an MPhil and ensure that a PhD is in grasp throughout their studies?

Sorry for my splurge of emotion and thanks in advance for any advance!

Hi, I'm in the first year of my PhD and I'm no expert on this.I'm not sure I can answers your questions directly around the difference between PhD/MPhil as I always thought it came down to a contribution of knowledge, whereas your horror stories appear to suggest otherwise.

However, I have come across a few of people who have either been unable to complete their PhD, got an MPhil or major revisions. It seems to me one thing common to all these cases is that the students did not follow the advice of their supervisors, even when it was strong advice. So that would be my tip.

In addition, to raising the issue on this forum, maybe you could discuss your current concerns with your supervisors. They may be able to reassure you or give you some useful advice.

S

Hi,