How I completed my PhD in 7 months!

S

Just kidding, sorry about the misleading title, and the post that follows. I've asked this in several places around the net and haven't been able to get a helpful response, so I was wondering if any of you wonderful people could help me. (please click back on your browser right now if you don't want to read garbage from some kid with a sentence problem).

My paper reads:

However, non-significant results for the four hypotheses may direct attention towards the competing biochemical account; specifically, that the coal fusion chambers contribute to the production of high octane countach fuel.

Is this correct usage of the semicolon?

I feel that a new sentence would break the flow, but I also feel that a comma after "account" makes things drag on.

Sorry If I've missed the correct forum/subforum for this, I had a quick search and this seemed most appropriate.

No. A semicolon in a sentence is used to differentiate a sub-clause forming a separate mini-statement directly related to the main sentence. A comma is more appropiate in the above example as it's not a sub-clause.

I would write the above sentence as:

"However, non-significant results for the four hypotheses may direct attention towards the competing biochemical account, specifically that the coal fusion chambers contribute to the production of high octane countach fuel."

You don't need a comma between "specifically" and "that" either.

Ian (Mackem_Beefy)

T

it should be "nonsignificant".

Quote From tt_dan:

Sorry Dan, it should be either "non-significant" or "insignificant".

If you're prefixing "non-" on the the beginning of a work to negate it, it is usually followed by and attached to the following word by a hypen. English bening English, there are always exceptions.

Ian (Mackem_Beefy)

T

Quote From Mackem_Beefy:
Quote From tt_dan:

Sorry Dan, it should be either "non-significant" or "insignificant".