How important is it to be in a department with other phd students?

M

Hey all, having been a silent observer of this forum for a while, now seems a good time to ask for your wise advice! I am looking to start a phd in september, but my dilemma is do I:
a) go for the department where i have been working with my potential supervisor for the last 6 months and have built up a good working relationship, but where the department does not have any other phd students.
or b) approach a department where I haven't worked with a potential supervisor but where there is an active phd student body for support, advice etc.
I can't find any previous threads along these lines, and am interested to know the degree of importance you attach to having other phd students around you for bouncing ideas off etc. What are your experiences if you moved to a uni or city where you didn't know anybody and there are no students in your department? Thank you!

J

Personally I would go for the department with other PhD students, although this isn't essential for your completion it is nice to be able to interact with others in a similar position. I would imagine it could be quite easy to become isolated in a department where you are the only student!

The other point is it never does any harm for your future career if you have moved around a bit!

Hope that helps and good luck with the decision, its nice to have a choice anyway

O

I myself would opt for the PhD where you will have an involved and supportive supervisor. To me that is far more critical than the type of PhD students that are in the department. Your supervisor is vastly more important to the outcomes of your PhD than the students that you might come across. Even if you enter into a PhD department that is devoid of friendly, helpful students, you can make these connections across departments or even across universities, by attending campus events, attending conferences and networking events, etc.

X