How long to wait..?

B

So, I'm not a PhD student yet, but it is something I'm seriously thinking about...thing is, I'm wondering how long is ok to take off from study, from the end of your undergrad degree to applying for a PhD?
I'm currently in my last year of study, in my social sciences degree (anthropology), and before I do anything I just want to travel for a while. Is having a gap of, say, two years between my last year of undergrad, and applying to do a PhD going to be detrimental to my application, in particular to get a scholarship? What does anyone else think/know about this?

:-(

A

======= Date Modified 25 Aug 2010 17:21:49 =======
As long as your motives, interests and long-term commitment to study are clear, I don't think it matters whether you take a break to travel/try other professional stuff/have a family etc.

I had an interval of almost 20 years between my undergrad and masters degrees, followed by a further 3 year interval, and still picked up AHRC full doctoral funding.

J

I took ten years between first degree and part time MA (to work including professional exams), then another 7 years between MA and MSc (fulltime) - again working and having children. Have just started PhD (partime) after anotehr break of 5 yearrs 9although I did do PGCert for HE in that time). Two years at this stage is nothing.

B

Oh well that's good to hear, thanks. Seeing as my long term interests revolve around anthropology and international politics, I feel traveling will be of benefit (although I want to travel purely for enjoyment, too). Also plan on learning another language, such as Spanish or Indonesian, as I feel only knowing english is defiantly a disadvantage for me if I want to work in the areas of development and aid (which I do, at this stage anyway).
So thanks again. :-)

N