How many experiments should you aim to complete?

S

Hi,

I'm a new PhD student and got a bit of an alarming wake up call at my last supervisory meeting. I'd planned to do 3 clear cut experiments in my first year, and four for the second. I wanted to treat each experiment like an individual dissertation... thorough 8,000 word write ups... extensive literature searches for each and a real knowledge of what I wanted to investigate and find out until....

My supervisor suggested I submit around 3-5 experiments for ethical approval next month...! How on earth can I set five experiments up thoroughly so that they are well designed, well thought etc etc in that time? How can I complete extensive lit reviews and have a real sense of what I am setting up?

Then my second supervisor added that he had completed 20 experiments throughout his PhD.. but only 9 were included in the thesis. To me, this seemed like a pretty big waste of time - 11 sets of data collection not used.

I think they think I should run as many experiments as possible and abandon the ones that don't work. I do not know whether I can do this. At least, not to the standard I would want my work to be at. And if you as submitting multiple experiments to ethics at once- how can you feed the results of one experiment into the other...?

I guess it comes down to quantity or quality. I was just hoping for some advice really. I'm a psychology student and are aware that different subjects require different numbers of experiments. I'm having difficulty knowing how to move forward..

Any advice appreciated :) As you can tell I'm new to this!

D

Stephanie, I think this must vary from field to field, but if your studies are linked it is hard to see how submitting all for ethics can be best practice given that results from one may influence the design of others.