How many PhD places did/have you applied for?

G

Hello. I had a look through the forum and I don't think anyone has asked about this before.

At the moment I'm pretty panicked about getting a PhD place. I graduated at the end of 2010 and since then I have been obsessively searching for opportunities in my area of interest. I've got about 8 pending applications and about 4 of those feel at least partially hopeful to me (in other words, the supervisors are interested in me, but I don't know what I'm competing with).

So yes, is this a "normal" amount to apply for!? I feel a compulsion to keep contacting potential supervisors, but there's always the worry of getting inundated with offers/pissing off my referees (who have given two references so far, and I assume it's a bit of a tedious process).

M

I think it just depends. I only made one application - to stick with my MSc supervisor - and luckily we got the scholarship. I think if you've got a specific idea of what you want to do and write the proposal yourself, then you're more likely to apply to a smaller number of places, and if you don't get it just apply the next year. If you're applying for projects which have already been set out but have funding attached, then you might make a lot of applications. There's no standard response so don't stress over it. :)

Hi,
I only applied for 2 PhDs (at different institutions) - one a set studentship and one with my own proposal and research council funding.

Good luck  :-)

P

I applied for 4 funded PhD projects I found on findaphd.com.

1 answered and asked me for an interview and accepted me for the position.
The other three never gave any notice. I emailed one project, but they said spots were filled already.

My girlfriend applied for 2 projects (not sure if it was 3) and both were negative.

C