How much do you consult your supervisor?

L

======= Date Modified 12 Jan 2012 22:23:01 =======
Hi all,

I know that there is a huge range in candidate-supervisor relationships, but I was just wondering the extent to which people consult theirs before submitting: abstracts for conferences, conference papers, submissions to journals.

I am in my first year, and have seen a few conferences I'm interested in applying to, but don't know whether I should be showing my pieces to my supervisor or just trusting my own judgement. I feel reasonably confident submitting abstracts (with the intention of showing my sup the actual paper should I be accepted and write one), but I don't know if it is considered bad practice not to run even abstracts by them first.

D

I have a good relationship with my sup. In my experience, I discussed abstracts and papers with her verbally, but submitted drafts for journal submissions. It could be a matter of the supervisor's advising style. There's probably no harm in asking what she or he prefers.

W

The abstract you submit for a conference can be used in the conference literature on the web, so I would run it past supervisor before submitting just in case there are errors you might have missed.

I was in a group meeting where one chap proudly started to show supervisor poster for conference - first supervisor knew about it. Supervisor asked to see abstract - it had a grammatical error in the title.
Running past supervisor just gives that extra check even if you are sure there can be no mistakes and it reads well.

I tend to run everything past supervisor - especially asking for permission to attend a conference before I even think of abstract submitting. In your first year you may not have much research to show and your supervisor may prefer you wait until you have more material before you start attending things.

L

======= Date Modified 13 Jan 2012 08:49:45 =======