How to apply for a PHD course

K

I am interested in apply for a PHD course and wondering if I have enough experience and qualifications. I have a BSc Computer Science, a PGCE in Secondary Education (ICT) and completing a MSc Computer Science (Merit), I have also have over 20 years of experience and I still feel this is not enough to sell myself for a PHD course. What do you have to do to get a place an university, really confused. Some universities are so unhelpful. Really would like the advice. Kind regards

B

Sounds to me as if the only thing you lack is confidence. As long as your PhD is Computer Science related, I don't think you'll have a problem finding a place. The key thing, once you've isolated a likely university, is to put together a decent proposal.

Most university websites provide a list of people to contact informally with regards to doing a PhD. Even if you haven't had helpful experiences in the past, I'd urge to email a few, outlining who you are, what you've done and your ideas. Somewhere along the line, you will find someone who'll give helpful feedback.

G

Yep, you're good enough (easily). You just have to have a go through the rigmarole of applying (successfully) for something. Not exactly a fun experience I agree.

K

Thank you so much for your help, this gives me some confidence.

K

Hi, does universities look at the higher qualification such as the MSc in Computer Science or the BSc in Computer science when applying for PHD course?

B

Yes, they will look closely at all your qualifications and experience.

Also, just in case this applies to you, if you want to study at a university in the UK and English is not your first language, they will want you to prove that your English language skills are up to the task.

B

There are many different nationalities using this forum. As you've done a PGCE it sounds as if you are based in the UK, but it would be helpful to know for certain which country you want to do a Phd in and where you are from.

K