How to Change Supervisors

P

I am doing a PhD in Australia. My supervisor is abusive towards me although he praises my work and i have reason to fear that he will not give me a good enough reference to allow me to get a Post Doc. He discusses confidential things about me with students he likes better who suck up to him, he has made me look bad, he has called me stupid although my academic record is very strong, he sneers and becomes vicious if i report other staff harrassing me or if i get nervous with him, he has supported other students harrassing me, ... there is so much. I have been in the middle of a serious bullying, mobbing, and harrassment issue at the department which other people there have noticed and been shocked at. The head of school has said nasty things at me in front of other people as i walk down the corridor, without even looking at me. Other people were shocked at what she said. I feel too humiliated to remain in that department. One problem is that a previous supervisor who bullied me and is well known in his field has definitely spread malicious rumours about me which has resulted in negative behaviour towards me from academics i have never had any contact with before.