How to stay out of trouble due to lab politics? help please!!

N

I am an international student. I love science and spend most of my time in the lab since I want to learn more and wanted to have a good career in academics. My first day in the lab was great, but from then on it is a terrible nightmare for years. The present work, when I started was new to me and I would ask questions and also try to help my lab-mates with their work so that I could learn, but every request I made to them to teach me was met with hostile remarks. My labbies have even yelled at me many times. I suffered this harassment for a while and when I could not take it anymore I decided to approach my advisor. However, then I realized that my labbies were back stabbing me for a very long time. I used to have a very cordial relationship with my advisor, but things have changed a lot now. I am not a person who gossips, but of recently I came to know that my labbies are spreading rumors about me right from the administration staff, graduate students, and also faculty members.

N

I believe in science, if you want to survive, then you should have a good name, like “he is smart researcher/ he works hard/he is a nice person”. I work really hard but this kind of derogatory gossips are hurting me and my career a lot.

I also tried requesting my labbies not to hurt me, but they would stop for a while and then resume the same.

I feel, if a person is hard working, subjectively smart, and really interested in science --- he would not survive; I think a trait of cunningness is really important. Unfortunately, I don’t have that trait to survive this humiliation. I am really straight forward, confident, and bold but due to all this meanness or jealousness it is hurting my confidence to approach people; currently I am rethinking my decision in academics.

N

I feel so hurt that people can be so wrong. They scold my advisor when he is not there, but when he is around, they are so nice to him.