How upbeat am I?

H

Just a quick note to all the people out there who are doubting that they are good enough to go for a PhD. If I can do it, you can do it.

I have a BA (Hons) and no masters. I have a passion for my chosen research field and have a "never say die attitude".

I have already been offered 3 places with two more interviews to go.

The secret is to search down prospective supervisors who have a shared passion for your SPECIFIC area of research, then contact them direct (by-pass admissions). Get them on your side and your half way there.

The only problem I have now is choosing which one to accept. What a great problem to have.

W

A dynamic and persuasive go-getter indeed! Do you then also have the additional problem of acquiring funding, after you've decided which one of the many phds you wish to take, or have you/will you have similar success with that too (if it's an issue)?

H

Funding looks like it may well be a problem.
My intention is to start part-time and self-fund and then to transfer to full-time once I can secure funding. Most, not all, of the Universities I have contacted have said this is possible, but finding funding isn't easy once you have started a PhD.

S

It isn't really that difficult to get a PhD offer (or two or three) if you are not looking for funding. Not meaning that a self-funded PhD is inferior - just that supply and demand for funding means it's at least an order of magnitude easier to find an unfunded position than to get funding.

M

Woah thats brilliant. Ive been trying to get a place with a 2:1 and a MRes and still no luck. I cant bear the thought of going back to my old job with my tail between my legs, I really didnt belong there. I dont suppose you have any advice for keeping motivated because with every rejection my confidence gets a massive knock... and ironically the feedback Im getting points to "lack of confidence at interview". Vicious circle.

H

Mambocat