How was your first year?

L

Hi guys! It has been nine months since the beginning of my phd... I think it's a good time to gauge my progress to see how much more effort I should put it...

So, how was your first year? Had anyone already submitted paper or attended conference? Did you basically still learn from others (papers, books) or do you already contribute new ideas on your project?

Thanks a lot!!

B

Hi Icy, I am also 9 months into this experience. I have probabtion report coming up. I have attended a conference and training events but not presented at any conference. I am due to present at department seminars. In terms of progress I dont' feel I have made alot of progress as haven't really started to form any opinions of my own and I am still learning from papers. Each arguement I read seems reasonable and I find it hard to take a standpoint. Still waiting for inspiration!

S

it's been a full year for me. looking back i'm sorry for all the time spent procrastinating, time i need now! i also feel, however, that i did a LOT of things in that year, although perhaps not always with visible results. not the least of my achievements, i would claim, is settling in to a new country, learning how "my" discipline is different here than what i was taught elsewhere, and learning how to deal with repeated rejections (funding).
i have talked/presented at several small "workshops" - meetings of an international research group, but only 6-10 listeners. i have presented my project to my research centre and my department. in november i'm going to speak at a gradstudents conference, and my abstract just got accepted for my first "real" conference in february. haven't written anything yet, though.

L